Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alabama Virtual Library
Although our subject guides highlight certain Alabama Virtual Library databases, you can find and search all AVL resources from this link.
Library Science Databases (If any database below asks for a username/password, use the "Contact a Librarian Link" below to request help.)
Academic Search Premier (Provided by Alabama Virtual Library) A large general database with thousands of journals and one of the best places to start any research.
AccessScience More than 8,700 articles covering scientific disciplines, 115,000 definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 3,000 biographies of well known scientific figures, and videos that highlight the the life and work of well known scientific figures
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy An innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
InfoTrac General OneFile A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
Britannica Academic Premier academic encyclopedia and other resources.
Credo Reference (Login to Virgil to use) Subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks.
Gale Reference eBooks Database of encyclopedias and reference sources, subjects covered are Arts, Business, Education, History, Literature, Science, and more.
Oxford Reference Language and subject reference works in a single, fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.
Films on Demand (Login to Virgil to use) The result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study.
Science Websites and Online Periodicals
Contact a Librarian by Email