Encyclopedia of AlabamaFree, online resource on Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. This site offers articles on Alabama's famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and so much more.
Ethnic NewsWatch (Provided by Alabama Virtual Library)Access to newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press,
and to full-text collection with over 2.5 million articles from over 340 publications.
Ethnic categories covered are African American, Caribbean, African, Arab, Middle Eastern, Asian Pacific, Islander, Hispanic, Jewish, and more.
History Reference Center (Provided by Alabama Virtual Library)Access over 640,000 full-text records from reference books, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, and many other sources, nearly 2,000 encyclopedias, reference books, and non-fiction books, over 81,000 full-text biographies on historical figures, over 56,000 full-text primary source documents, over 45,000 images, and over 83 hours of historical video content.
InfoTrac General OneFileA one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics.
Opposing ViewpointsSupports science, social studies, current events, and language arts presents all sides of important issues and empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
Points of View Reference Center (Provided by Alabama Virtual Library)Provides a balance of materials from all viewpoints with main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Gale Reference eBooksDatabase of encyclopedias and reference sources, subjects covered are Arts, Business, Education, History, Literature, Science, and more.
Oxford ReferenceLanguage and subject reference works in a single, fully-indexed, cross-searchable database.
Audiovisual Department
Films on Demand (Login to Virgil to use)The result of decades of careful curating with a single guiding principle: providing every academic department on campus with the most essential video titles for their field of study.
Social Sciences Websites and Online Periodicals
BiographyWith biographies and daily features that highlight newsworthy, compelling and surprising points-of-view, this is the digital source for true stories about people that matter.
World FactbookProvides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
U. S. Geological SurveyPprovides science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods; the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on; the health of our ecosystems and environment; and the impacts of climate and land-use change.
The White HouseThe home of the President of the United States and his family, and a museum of American history.
